#1. Children’s Novels – And the winner is… [#WorldBookDay Countdown]

Happy World Book Day! Well, yesterday it was. Unfortunately, I’m a day late with this due to illness, but better late than never. And here it is, the book that, in my opinion, keeps Harry Potter from the top spot.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, first published in 1985.

The story of Andrew ‘Ender’ Wiggin, the youngest of three siblings. A ‘third’, a child who shouldn’t have been born if his parents had stuck to the rules. In a society that has already fought of the attack of an alien species government is preselecting only most gifted of children to enter is battle program and earn the chance to become a commander.

This novel won the Hugo award in 1986, and deservedly so. For me, it is both exceptionally well written and is an example of storycraft at its finest. It also happens to have one of the most exceptional twists that I can recall, one that makes your stomach churn as soon as it is revealed.

If you haven’t read Ender’s Game, I highly suggest you go out, buy it and then tell me that I got this wrong… I dare you. I also suggest you watch the film, but do that after the book as the book is infinitely superior. Reading Ender’s Game transformed my understanding of what a book could achieve and how a story should be written. It is definitely at the upper end of children’s books, created at a time when Young Adult didn’t exist. But, boy, is it good!

  

Leave a Reply

